Starting out

Discuss new sims, mods, tracks and sim software/hardware
ArcticBlue

Starting out

Post by ArcticBlue » Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:07 pm

I'm just starting out with realistic sim racing. I've got a wheel and pedals and having been trying out the rfactor demo. After a couple of hours driving I now feel like I'm somewhat in control and not spinning out every lap. Funnily enough when I forced myself to slow down and stay in control I suddenly started to stay on the track and my times started improving. :D

What's the best approach to improve and what level do I need to get to before joining the rest of you in some online racing?
I presume rFactor is what most people are playing still?
I've set the difficultly level to veteran with everything disabled except auto clutch. I figured this was the best way to learn to actually drive the car. Is this sensible?
Using the default Kodi demo car on Toban raceway I'm currently down around 1:23 for my best lap and pretty consistently within 4secs of that. The AI seems to be able to do it in 1:16ish. What sort of times should I be aiming for so as not to completely hold you all up and end up being lapped every couple of laps?
I know one of the answers is going to be just spend more time practicing but I haven't found much in the way of tutorials on what things to work on.

Before anyone complains about only having the demo, I figured I might as well play on that for a bit and then find out if it's still a popular one to race online with.

Thanks

BK

Re: Starting out

Post by BK » Thu Jun 26, 2014 9:37 am

Hi and welcome to KSR.
gch412001 wrote:What's the best approach to improve and what level do I need to get to before joining the rest of you in some online racing?