New here? Say Hi and introduce yourself.
colmacnz

Post by colmacnz » Sun Jan 31, 2016 11:30 am

Hi from Colmacnz, I am new to sim racing and just in the process of upgrading to a decent simulator. I have a new PC being built with a Gigabyte GV-N960OC-4GD GTX960 4G OC Video card, AMD FX 6300 CPU and 8GB ram. I am planning on getting 3 x 27" ACER K272HL moniters. I have an old Logitech Wheel and pedals that will do for now. I am looking for a seat and am split between an office style gaming chair that will make the PC more usable for other projects or going full out for some sort of playseat setup. Any advise on this would be helpful. Is there a gear for sale section? I have so far only been using iracing, their Nurburgring track and McLaren MP4 - 12CGT3 are what have got me hooked. I have yet to try rfactor, how does it compare to iracing?
Cheers
Colin

Riftcreator

Re: New member

Post by Riftcreator » Sun Jan 31, 2016 1:33 pm

Hey Colin,

iRacing and rFactor are very different games. And hold a different place in the sim racing world.
Depending on what you want from a sim will decide which is best for you.

We use rFactor as we can mod it to suit, it's brilliant for running leagues and the sheer amount of free content is great.
However, we will be moving to another sim at some point, depending on a few factors, and of course cost.

kerryland

Post by kerryland » Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:04 am

iRacing has good racing, because there are a bazillion people, so you're likely to have close races with people at your skill level (useful if, like me, you're not very fast). iRacing is also annoying because you quickly learn that you have to keep spending money on cars and tracks if you actually want to get out of rookie mode.

rFactor is dated, but has a huge variety of content, and is required you want fun racing with the guys on this site on a Tuesday night. Fun is good.